PDA

View Full Version : AIM virus/trojan??


bugman
November 6th, 2005, 07:47 PM
A link appeared in my AIM profile...don't know how it got there, especially because I'm behind a pretty beefy university firewall.

the text of the link says, "Less Right Clicks, Use the Away Page!"

and the url is http:// buddyinfo dot aim dot com / away

obviously, there are no spaces in the url and the dots are periods.

So anyway know anything about this?

zero
November 6th, 2005, 09:31 PM
yep, there is an AIM virus going around. dont click on any links in IMs from people you dont know or even if you do know them for that fact. The new AIM is full of spyware and trojans. The name of the virus going around on AIM is called lockx.exe it does some nasty stuff to your computer. I haven't used AIM is years if you want a safer alternative use GAIM (http://gaim.sourceforge.net/)

bugman
November 6th, 2005, 09:33 PM
yeah i know about that one...I couldn't find lockx.exe on my system and AIMFix didn't find anything. UNinstalling and reinstalling didn't work.

bugman
November 7th, 2005, 01:36 PM
Update: Last night I had that link in my profile.
This morning, everyone on my buddy list except for one person had it.
This afternoon, no one has it...not even me.

fretflyer
November 8th, 2005, 08:03 PM
there also are the other aim viruses, the ones where people send you a link at random while your online ive clicked them only once and i learned my lesson

bugman
November 8th, 2005, 08:06 PM
yeah but see, I never click links unless it's legit. I still don't know what it was. So weird that it disappeared on its own